Nakusp

Midway on our life’s journey I found myself in a dark wood.” Dante

I haven’t written for a while.  This week the voices of goats were in my head.  I know you’re wondering what in the world am I talking about.  Let me explain.  Every once in a while all those voices that cause me fear and shame get really loud and I can hardly think let alone write or be positive about anything.  This week was one of those weeks.

Ironically, our pastor spoke about goats this weekend.  Just like my husband, he feels that goats are one of the ugliest and stinkiest beasts.  However he described an image of tying all those shame voices around the neck of a goat with a red ribbon and sending it out into the forest and maybe pushing it off of a wee cliff.  This was to ensure that the voices or the goat never came back into your life.  The Israelites did this once a year to symbolize the same thing: sacrificing a goat for their guilt and shame.  In present day however, the mystical voice of the “goats” often come wandering back into my life and I wonder if sometimes I even go looking for the little buggers.  “Here goaty, goaty,  tell me those shaming things again.  I’m having a good time in life and I shouldn’t be…”  Ahhh!

Moving on…

I’m looking forward to this week.  Wynter has a ringette tournament in Burnaby that I’m going to.  We get to stay in a hotel with a pool!  Just the girls in the family are going so it’ll be a girls weekend of giggles and hairdo’s and shopping!

 

