Does anyone else have kids that wear mismatched socks every day or is it just this poor disorganized mama?  The children grab two sock that are similar in size and color and off they go to school.  Is the lighting too dim?  Does it not feel off-balance to have one ankle sock and one tube sock? Or maybe its the sock basket.  You know the one,  the basket/drawer/cupboard/counter that holds the  pairless sock.   I’ve named it the Basket of Hope.  Hope that the sock will one day be reunited with it’s pair.  Only a strong minded housekeeper or one who hasn’t read the laundry handbook, will toss that lonesome sock after 2 laundry days have passed.    We are moving and I will not bring this basket with me.  They will go to the graveyard of lonesome socks.  The abyss.  Such an Erma Bombeck moment.

Shout out to my good pals that were part of my ‘nameless’ quartet 18 years ago.  Lil’ Sue, Phil, Dale… I want to sing “Come Thou Fount” again with ya!  I sang it in church tonight and was taken back to the red velvet stage, mic’s in our hands, with lights in our eyes, singing the song, {that song}, breaking into harmony, albeit a little pitchy, in  front of a handful of viewers.  Traveling to Ontario, Oregan we billeted with a kind old lady who wished to spoil us with hotdogs, pop and candy.  I have never craved something green to eat as much as I did that week.  Let me remind you of the words:

Come, thou Fount of every blessing, 
	tune my heart to sing thy grace; 
	streams of mercy, never ceasing, 
	call for songs of loudest praise. 
	Teach me some melodious sonnet, 
	sung by flaming tongues above. 
	Praise the mount! I'm fixed upon it, 
	mount of thy redeeming love.
O to grace how great a debtor 
	daily I'm constrained to be! 
	Let thy goodness, like a fetter, 
	bind my wandering heart to thee. 
	Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it, 
	prone to leave the God I love; 
	here's my heart, O take and seal it, 
	seal it for thy courts above.

I never noticed before the lines, “prone to wander, Lord, I feel it, Prone to leave the God I love”  Wow!  I am prone…

Grace to you this weekend.  It’s a long one!

