Over the summer I’ve had time.  That is I’ve had lots of time.  Time to think, to be and to re-adjust things in my life.  That’s how summer is right?  We go to bed late and sleep in late the next morning.

I picked up a meditation book last month from Value Village.  The store that smells funny.  Yes, you know the store.

But you can find these neat finds there, it’s like a giant treasure hunt.  My treasure, a book is called Simple Abundance.  It was published in 1995.  16 years ago. So it’s old.  But that doesn’t mean the principles in it are outdated.

In fact the older the principle, often the closer to truth it is.

But anyways, the principle of becoming a student and learning something new is in there.  The author quotes from William Hutchinson Murray, a scottish man who led a team to climb Mount Everest in 1951.

“The moment one definitely commits oneself, then Providence moves too.  All sorts of things occur to help one that would never otherwise have occured…incidents and meetings and material assistance which no man could have dreamed would have come his way.”

So I’m thinking that if a moutain climber noticed this I should too.  Once I commit to daily exercising or carving time in my day to create art, things are going to happen.

Meetings, going for coffee, praise, an email from a trainer at the gym.  If the student is ready the teacher will come.  Yes they will.

I wonder what you’ve been thinking about this summer while you make raspberry jam, lie on the pool deck or bath your kids?  Maybe it’s time to commit.  Face that mountain and trust that help will come.  I think we’ll be surprised.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart,  and lean not in your own understanding.  In all your ways acknowledge him and he will direct your path.

Prov. 3:5,6

