Today we decided to tile our backsplash.  This is easy because ultimately the backsplash is only decorative.  It doesn’t have to be super duper done because it’s not a shower or people aren’t going to walk on it.  In other words, it’s safe to make mistakes on it.

It’s been 2 1/2 months since we’ve moved in and finally decided to finish this project.  This is not an area you can just avoid.  Every time I poured a cup of coffee the unfinished wall grabbed my creamer and said, finish me please!!

Because we started late in the day, it will take at least  3 to 4 days to complete.  Here’s how far we got today.

You should notice two interesting things.  One is that we used magazines and newspaper as spacers on the countertop.  I don’t know how professional that is but I am not a professional tiler.  The space we needed to add was literally paper thin, ergo the paper magazine. This will be my 6th tile job so I know what I’m doing but I don’t claim to be an expert!

The second thing to notice is my sink is still full of dishes!! That should say something about my ongoing tidiness.  It is ONGOING! Not complete.

This is the basic run of my countertop that is usually full of coffee makers, toasters, mixers and such.  My countertops are a vintage granite.  It’s a very busy pattern so that’s why I chose a solid neutral color for the backsplash.

The tile behind the stove will have a framed effect with the tiles inside the frame like diamonds.  Just a little something to jazz it up.  The tile I’m using is tumbled marble that I got for a really good price from the local tile store. The framing tile is oil rubbed bronzed rope tile.  (Say that fast a few times…)

Here’s the last picture of the stove pulled out.

Would I recommend doing it yourself tiling, to the average homeowner?  There are some things to keep in mind.

  • It’s a 2 person job.  One can get by doing it but there’s a lot more traipsing in and out to cut the tile.
  • We have access to a tile cutter.  This is KEY!  The cheap ones are only good on large tile and even then there is a lot of waste.
  • It’s a mucky job.  There is plenty of cleanup – and NOT down your drain.  It’s concrete!
  • You need about 3 to 4 days but only a couple of hours per day because of curing and drying time.
  • You like to work with your hands.  Don’t even try if you use a kitchen knife as a screwdriver.
  • You like telling guests that you created the backsplash pattern.

These pictures were taken with my iphone so the quality is sub-par but it’s documented.  The cabinets also seem darker here than they are in real life.  They are natural walnut and more brown than black.  My finished pictures will be better.

It feels good to get started on this because next week our school life all starts again.  And then, there won’t be any more time for 10 months.

 

 

