My days on the university campus have begun and I’ve pored over course lists and flipped through websites making sure I am taking enough to get that degree.  The countdown is on.  Maybe only a year left?

Last year at this time I was full of apprehension and dread really.  Trying to make the best of a poor choice.  I’m a thinker and writer, not a number pusher.

You know when you’re on the wrong path.  There are many good paths that can confuse your direction, but the wrong path grips you and forces you to stop.

But I am still the odd one again this September, walking through the maze of anxious 18 year olds and professors trying to blend in and be on time for class.  The university has grown and now has a ‘non-traditional’ collegium.  This is for those of us who didn’t get their degrees out of high-school or who are just plain ‘non-traditional.’  Its a nice way of saying old or mature.

This collegium is a lounge room for those of similar interests/ages to study and take breaks. There’s a kitchenette with couches and desks.  It’s great.  Peaceful and therefor non-traditional.  I love it.  I might actually be able to get my homework done on campus and concentrate on family when I’m with family.

Fall routines have hit my kids with a mighty smack and I think everyone suffered from a headache that first week as their computer brains turned on and dusted off the rust of inactivity.

Soccer tryouts, volleyball practices and music lessons picked up and we must decide our time wisely.  Our family as a unit is always the priority to maintain and although this year is a lot of status quo,( phew, thank the Lord,) we still have to be diligent in keeping good things from crowding us.

I’m talking about good activities that are time suckers and over commitments that are nice but not necessary.

So we say yes to the tenor sax rental for band but no to ski passes.

I’m calling things necessary that allow us to enjoy happiness yet experience self- discipline in a way that is age appropriate.  Life disciplines I call them.  Things that will be for their lifetime.  So that when they are 35 or 55 they can still do these functions.  I will always play piano and sing but won’t always go up for a spike in volleyball.

A little bit of work now for life time pleasures.

I’ve endured a grad parent committee meeting and quickly realized that my philosophy  expectations of my child is much different than the majority.

That’s ok.   I won’t be putting hours of fundraising for a party he’s not going to nor really wants.    I am just in awe that I birthed someone that long ago. He’s graduating? Am I that old?

So, I look into the glass ball trying to see the future and make predictions, but all I see is today’s grocery list and hear the sound of piano scales.  Without too much more philosophy I’ll take it day by day.  It’s off to bed for me.

