Daylight savings time ended and the clocks were turned back on Sunday.

Despite this fact when the sun rose past the eastern mountain and the light rays gently touched the window sill, my body rose.  It was only 5:30 am but somehow it was time to awake.

That is why I had the privilege of walking the dog, writing in the blog and sitting for a moment before heading off.  Thankfully it was a sunny fall morning with piles of leaves to shuffle through and vista’s everywhere.   Of course I left my camera in the office drawer…

We had a magical weekend “power visiting” with our family and friends. We drove four and half hours back to where Wes and I began, to party and celebrate life.  There was great joy in sharing a meal with the whole 35 of us relatives in the back room.  I got to rub the new mamma’s belly expecting the next generation of clan, and hold hands with the worn wrinkles of 93 years.  There was comfortable ribbing between men on grey hair and making women honest.  The soft ribbon of love was wound around that night while we celebrated 93 years of the matriarchs life.

On Sunday we had coffee with friends of our youth; in essence another turning back of the time.   Friends who had been to Atlanta and back and THEN she let me see the old mugs.  The pink pottery that held hours of chatting, laughing and heart moments from long ago in the little rental suites we all lived in.  She was the only one of us newlyweds in ’94 who wasn’t serving coffee in white porcelain corelle dishes.  Now the pottery was safely in the cupboard to be viewed not used.

These glimpses of all that is everyday reminds me of the greater eternity for humanity.  That under the sun there will be nothing new.  Just brief moments of beauty that move us into the realm of supernatural awe.  God’s land.  His place of being.

That is not to say the weekend did not bring with it tears.  I saw some friends with a huge wall of hurt between them.  Friends whom I’d love to take and hug and make them kiss and make up.  Friends whose hearts are being pulled through fire.  No more smiles for each other or mutual understanding.  Something has gone wrong under the sun and I do not, can not understand it completely.  All I can do is take no sides and pray with love.

And so my week begins with a thought from Solomon the book of Ecclesiastes:

 He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end.12 I know that there is nothing better for people than to be happy and to do good while they live. 13 That each of them may eat and drink, and find satisfaction in all their toil—this is the gift of God.

