spring2012-158It was with trembling legs that I got up to share my “identity box” to the class of 50.  Part of our mark was putting together a box that represented your strengths, virtues and somehow symbolized ‘you’.

I picked a book box that I got from Winners to be symbolic of my love of learning.  Inside I put some negatives – which the class all ooed at because that must mean I’m from the dinasaur age – some music things, a pen for writing and stuff about the family etc..

I noticed that there was no way that who I was could be wrapped up in a 3 min talk nor a simple box of items.  

I noticed that people tend to all be more alike than they are different in terms of strengths and virtues.

I remembered how good it feels to be in front of a class.

It is near the end of this semester I am casting seeds in many directions trying to find the path that I am meant to take in the fall.  Undergrad degrees do not mean the same thing as they did 15 years ago.  To get to work in your field you must have a graduate designation, which is essentially trade school for professionals.  I’m trying not to worry to much about the fall but it waits there with a big question on it.

For Lent this year I’ve embraced a morning and evening ritual of meditation.  I chose Thomas Merton A Book of Hours to read and a strange calmness has filled my days.  A sense of direction and oneness.  Some of his writings I don’t quite understand but the words still satisfy me.

I’ll leave you with this, by Thomas Merton.

Let my trust be in Your mercy, not in myself.  Let my hope be in your love, not in health, or strength, or ability or human resources.

If I trust You, everything else will become, for me strength, health, and support.  Everything will bring me to heaven.  If I do not trust You, everything will be my destruction.

 

 

