OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASometimes when you get home from your holiday or vacation you get this huge emotional letdown.  Kind of like the day after Christmas or some big, over anticipated event.

But not because the event was a dissapointment.  No because it was the opposite.  The Holiday was so great that it seems like you’ve reached the top of the mountain and now it’s all downhill.  

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASince we’ve been back home there has been some zillion piles of laundry and I am smacked right in the middle of life. Real life.  Unwashed dishes on the counter, piles of paper cluttering the desk and a floor that looks speckled with marble its SO dirty.  School supplies and August lists are coming in close.

I am home from a trip that took me driving back into the warm cozy sweater of belonging.  I really do not want to take off that sweater. 

This family holiday was purposely planned around people.  It’s really the very best kind.  A destination of relationships.sask2013-063

There we talked about our quinoa salad recipes and compared rolls that gathered about the jeans.  We shared fears that our graduates aren’t going to get a job that gives purpose and prayed that the world will be gentle on them. We swatted mosquitoes off each others backs and high-fived our friends kids.

We cried with each others cancer burden, loving our parents and feeling helpless.

sask2013-009

sask2013-004I’ve gone to the Caribbean and never felt sad that I left.  I’ve relaxed on the beaches of Mexico and came home happy to sleep in my bed and ready for the regular routine.

I’m not sure if it’s the reality of all the laundry (I think I’ve said that already) or the fact that when we were in the prairies I couldn’t tell when I was home and when I was visiting, that now has me feeling confused.  My dreams at night tie together all the people and places both here and there. I think we were gone for 4 years too long.

sask2013-045I confess, I did not appreciate all I had.  And probably I’m doing it right now as well. Not appreciating those who live around me now.   I did not give thanks for the 40 acres of freedom that we walked on a daily basis.  I did not notice that all those community fun nights would link our kids to a place and their parents to memories.

And yet, I’m old enough to know that we are not bound by where we live. True friendship and family passes time and space.  And we proved that point last week.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe farm girl who loves the breezes off the wide open prairie has a special place in my heart.  It’s good to be home now, wherever that is.

