31daysbanner

I struck up a conversation with another mom while sitting together in the church foyer on an old pew.  We were waiting for dance class to finish.  Our young daughters danced together and I knew she had a 10 year old and an 18 year old.  We talked about life and school and how to get our kids to eat vegetables.  One day I finally asked her a burning question in my mind.  ‘What’s it like having an older kid in the house?’

In her friendly easy going way she replies, ‘do you mean can she come and go when she wants or do I still have a say in her life?’  I nod and she clears her throat continuing,  “Yes, she has rules and I’m still her mom…”  She went on for the rest of the half hour elaborating.  Our conversation was pure gold.  Pure gold.

That was 5 years ago.

So why am I blogging about this now?

As of November 10th I will officially have FOUR teens in the house.  And this will last for a few years and has been true for the last five.

I believe that people want to know stuff about teenagers.

Before I had older kids I thought I knew what I would do or what it would be like.  And probably I even gave advice to people who had them.  Gulp.  Little did I know.

So what can you expect to read about?   I’ll explore topics like:

Myths. Family values. Technology.  What I love. What I hate.  Parenting.  Teen art.  In the head of a girl/boy teen.  Also, my teens are going to weigh in on things and even guest posts from teenagers. BUT I’m not going to talk about things that should be left to doctors.

I encourage you to join me at my blog bench and share what you know about teenagers.

I’m linking up with the Nester and invite you to check out some of the other series too.

31days

